About Summit County

The County of Summit seeks to encourage regional job growth and business development to increase economic opportunity for all Summit County residents. We aim to connect new and existing businesses with the information, tools, and resources they need to locate, stay and grow in one of our 31 communities. Summit County is the ideal place for a business to thrive.

Our Department of Community and Economic Development team utilizes innovation, technology, and partnerships to assist existing businesses and attract new prospects. Summit County has the building blocks for success - prime location in the U.S., talented workforce, low cost of doing business, business-friendly tax environment, and available quality real estate. We are well positioned to accommodate growth and invite businesses to move forward together with us.

General Information

Summit County, formed in 1840, is located in northeastern Ohio and covers an area of 412.8 square miles. Twenty-two cities and villages as well as nine townships are located in the County. The largest city, Akron, is the county seat. According to the 2010 Census, Summit County has a population of 541,781, making it the fourth most populous of the 88 counties in Ohio. The County is in the Akron Primary Metropolitan Statistical Area ("PMSA"), comprised of Summit and Portage Counties, with a population of 703,200 according to the 2010 Census. It is also in the Cleveland-Akron-Elyria Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area ("CMSA"). Per 2010 Census data, the CMSA was home to a population of 2,881,937, making it the 16th most populous CMSA of 113 in the country.

The County of Summit is the first Charter County, and only one of two, in the State of Ohio. Under its Charter, adopted by the voters of Summit County in 1979, the County is governed by a County Executive, 11-member County Council, and several other administrative elected officials. Through the Charter, the County has limited "home rule" authority to excercise "all powers of local self-government." The County has significant responsibilities, including criminal justice, social services, economic development, infrastructure, and general government. The 31 cities, villages and townships in the County provide additional services and functions, including police and fire, local infrastructure, recreation and parks, utilities, and certain planning and zoning functions.

Explore Summit County's History

Make us your first stop for information and assistance.

The County of Summit's Department of Community and Economic Development is here to help. We encourage businesses to make us their first stop when researching Summit County or looking for resources and assistance. We work with local governments, economic development organizations, and businesses every day, bringing people together to collaborate and strategize for success. The Summit County difference is our willingness to partner with new and existing businesses, and our ability to pull stakeholders together, creating an atmosphere for business to thrive.

For help, contact one of our team members today.

Add to Report View Custom Report